Skip to Content

Allopathic Medicine (M.D.)

Allopathic medical schools offer the doctor of medicine (MD) degree following four years of medical training. As a general rule, the first two years of the medical school curriculum involve primarily course work, while the third and fourth years involve clinical rotations and training.
There are currently 141 accredited allopathic medical schools in the United States. These schools graduate more than 20,000 medical students each year. These accredited allopathic medical schools are represented by the American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC). The AAMC also oversees the MCAT and AMCAS. 
Texas has eight allopathic medical schools. Below is a table listing the names, locations and Web sites for the Texas allopathic medical schools.


Web site
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
University of Texas Medical Branch at Galveston
University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston Medical School
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Medicine
San Antonio
Texas A&M University Health Science Center, College of Medicine
College Station
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center School of Medicine
Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center Paul L. Foster School of Medicine at El Paso
El Paso
Baylor College of Medicine