Skip to Content

Graduate Faculty


The faculty listed below hold current appointments as members of the Graduate Faculty and are eligible to directly supervise graduate student research projects (i.e., serve as a student's major adviser). Prospective graduate students should contact faculty members to inquire about the faculty members' participation in the various graduate programs and whether the faculty members are currently seeking graduate students.


Bonner, Timothy

Fish Management, Ichthyology

tbonner@txstate.edu

Castro-Arellano, Ivan

Wildlife Ecology

ic13@txstate.edu

Daniel, Kristy

Biology Educator  kld119@txstate.edu

Dharmasiri, Nihal

Plant Developmental Biology

md34@txstate.edu

Dutton, Jessica

Aquatic Toxicology  jdutton@txstate.edu

Fritts, Sarah

Wildlife Ecology fritts.sarah@txstate.edu

Forstner, Michael

Systematics, Genetics

mf11@txstate.edu

Gabor, Caitlin

Behavioral Ecology

Gabor@txstate.edu

Garcia, Dana

Retinal Cell Physiology

dg08@txstate.edu

Green, Clay

Wildlife Ecology, Ornithology

claygreen@txstate.edu

Groeger, Al

Limnology, Phycology

ag11@txstate.edu

Hahn, Dittmar

Microbial Ecology

dh49@txstate.edu

Hardy, Thom

Stream Dynamics

thom.hardy@txstate.edu

Huertas, Mar

Physiology of Fishes

mhuertas@txstate.edu 

Huffman, David

Ornithology, Parasitology

dh09@txstate.edu

Kang, Hong-Gu

Molecular Cell Biology & Plant Immunology

kang@txstate.edu

Lemke, David

Flora of Texas

dl10@txstate.edu

Lopes, Vicente

Watershed Science

vl12@txstate.edu

Martin, Noland

Plant Speciation & Natural Hybridization

nm14@txstate.edu

McLean, Robert

Microbiology, Biofilms

rm12@txstate.edu

Nice, Chris

Genetics, Evolution

ccnice@txstate.edu

Nowlin, Weston

Aquatic Community and Ecosystem Ecology

wnowlin@txstate.edu

Ott, James

Ecological Genetics

jo05@txstate.edu

Rodriguez, David

Microbial Genetics/Genomics drdz@txstate.edu

Schwalb, Astrid

Stream Ecology schwalb@txstate.edu

Schwartz, Benjamin

Karst Hydrogeology bs37@txstate.edu

Schwinning, Susan 

Plant Ecology ss54@txstate.edu

Upchurch, Gary

Paleobotany gu01@txstate.edu

Veech, Joseph

Wildlife Ecology, Quantitative Ecology jv27@txstate.edu

Weckerly, Floyd

Wildlife Ecology fw11@txstate.edu

Weigum, Shannon

Optical Biosensors, Microfluidic Devices sweigum@txstate.edu

West, Sandra

Science Education, Lab Safety sw04@txstate.edu

Westerlund, Julie

Science Education, Inquiry jw33@txstate.edu

Williamson, Paula

Conservation Biology pw04@txstate.edu